#blog_message b, #blog_message b > span { font-weight: bold !important; } Gaming efficiently - Blogs - compLexity Gaming Forums

Antimage

Gaming efficiently

Rate this Entry
Hi everyone, coL.Antimage here!

As a co-op student, I am working full time (9-5) from January to August of this year. This means that I'll have to schedule Starcraft II practice during the week around my work schedule, my travel time, and the limited time that I get to sleep each weekday night ^^

Back in beta, I was doing the same, working full time and was still recognized as a top North American player. So I want to tell you my secret on how to get really good, really fast. Granted, this doesn't work if you're a silver player who has to work on mechanics and macro, but if you have a good grasp of what units beat what and when to get each building (a diamond or masters player), then you are already well on your way.

What you want to do is with each game you play (whether it is 3, 4 or 5 games a day), you want to pick out one thing that seemed to crop up in all those games that seemed to recur where you could improve upon easily by making it a conscious factor. For example, if you transfer workers too late after you expand (which really helps in increasing your income in Starcraft II), you make a conscious note to yourself that at 850/1,000 HP of your nexus, you take 2 rows of probes and move them to your expansion. This is straightforward enough as it applies to your first expansion, so it's a one-time thing you do every game. Eventually, it'll become automatic and you won't have to think about it at all.